I remember- 9/11

Posted: September 11, 2010 in Political Commentary, The Blog!

I remember sitting in class, I was a senior in high school. I was taking a government class, we actually used the economics class room so we had one of the only TV’s in the school. We all looked up and saw the news, the World Trade Center had just been stuck by a plane. No one knew what happened, and after awhile we saw another plane go through. When class was over I went into the cafeteria, our cafeteria didn’t have any walls but instead bordered with windows. I remember looking out the windows and seeing smoke in the far distance. Smoke from the towers that had just collapsed. I also remember walking through the halls that day, no one knew what was going on but everyone speculated. I can’t remember their names, but two Muslim girls who went to school with me were walking down the hall, everyone gave them hard stares but I kind of just felt bad. They didn’t do anything wrong, but the suspected terrorists, who we did find out were Muslim, just happened to share the same religious beliefs that they did. Did that make them part of the plane to attack America? Of course not, but I can image the tough times that they had to feel. When I was younger I didn’t know much better, I just kinda went through the motions when it came to that kind of stuff. If I was able to turn back the clock and reaper in those hall ways I would have stopped one of those girls while they walked with their head down and with a tear in their eye and tell them that it wasn’t their fault. I know they didn’t need me to tell them that, but I’m sure it would have helped. I see people being discriminated all the time, whether it’s because their gay, Muslim, black or whatever the case may be. It’s kind of a shame that such a big majority of our country can be so blind. For a country that has done a lot of good, I think our ego needs to be brought back down to reality. When I look back on that day 9 years ago, a lot goes through my mind. Just how much life has changed over that time, not just my own life but our countries, and than I look around and realize that maybe not as much has changed after all. Life isn’t perfect. Did you know that even today many of the volunteers at Ground Zero haven’t even been taken care of, have lasting effects that they can’t afford because of the warped health care system we have? Did you know that members of Al Qaeda who are prisoners at Guantanamo Bay receive full 100% covered health care, but those volunteers can’t get that same care. I don’t want to make this blog about our failed health care system or intolerance but sometimes it’s hard not too. I’ll end this blog with some words that are even deeper than anything I can write. These are from Abraham Lincolns 1st inaugural address. It didn’t matter what party he was in, and we could debate all day whether he would even want anything to do with his party as it stands today, here are his words that even 150 years later ring true.

“We are not enemies, but friends. We must not be enemies. Though passion may have strained it must not break our bonds of affection. The mystic chords of memory will swell when again touched, as surely they will be, by the better angels of our nature.”

Leave a Reply

