My life lately- In a nut shell and like a sponge

Posted: September 6, 2010 in The Blog!

Lately my mind has been like a sponge. I really have a lot going on and i’m absorbing all of this info and most of it has seemed to stick. I work full time, 5 days a week. On my two off days, I now go to school from 9-5 with a few small breaks in between. When i’m not working I’m spending time with my wife and son and enjoying and continuing to learn on the job to be a father and husband. I chat with my parents and friends throughout the week to keep up on the current news/gossip in there circle of life, but when I sit down for “me time” I seem to be soaking up information at a rate that I didn’t think would be possible. I was always interested in history, also love writing and working on my films and keeping up to date on the latest news in the sports word. Over the last few years my interest in politics have grown significantly. Not just politics, but science, the science of humans, the history of our species, the age of the earth and the universe we are in and what is around us. The topics are endless, the debates are fierce and with each article I read or interview I hear, the more I’m intrigued and inspired to hunt down information and facts to see how the particular topic effects myself and my friends and family. As I have become a husband and father, become older and more responsible, the interested has grown on what seems to be a daily basis. Whether it has to do with the economy and jobs, the war, foreign policy, climate change and energy, immigration or social issues such as abortion, gay marriage, civil rights or even the some what silly argument over evolution and religion I can’t seem to let it go. I find myself at times reading for hours about some of the great presidents that we have had over the years such has Franklin D. Roosevelt, John F. Kennedy and Lyndon B. Johnson, or the the disasters that we have witnessed over the recent years such as Richard Nixon, George Bush (father and son) and the overrated B-movie actor Ronald Regan. They each had positive and negatives, some just more than the other, but all very interesting and important in recent American history. There are times when I go back even further to read about our founding fathers, or maybe jump around and read about the many different wars we have been involved in (WW 1, WW2, Vietnam etc.). I might read about a particular topic, for instance last week I couldn’t get my mind of the of the economy and the supreme downfall of it over the last decade. I kept “googling” different important terms like “derivative” “credit default swap” and “capital gains tax”, I have read and heard about them before, but the complexity of a lot of these terms makes you re-read them many times over to even get a general idea of what is going on. With all of this information, whether regarding my job, school, family life or politics and science, I feel like I am going down the right track, headed down the correct road and using a mental GPS that I follow. I learned that when you hit a wall in life you can’t just stand there trying to my go in that same direction, you need to survey the situation, take a deep breathe and put your life in order. It is nice to have support from friends and family who might give you good advice from time to time, but in the end you need to look to your self. No matter how good the support system, in the end you are the one that you need to count on, to rely on , and to go too when time gets tough. I’ve had my ups an down in my life, and I’m proud of where I am now. I remember a quote that rings very true, “There’s no fate but what we make for ourselves”. You make your own decisions and choices and you decide your own outcome. There isn’t an imaginary force that will guide you, only you. I plan on using all this soaked up knowledge and information for the good of myself and family. My mind is becoming a sponge, and to tell you the truth I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Comments
  1. sheri says:

    LOVE THIS ENTRY!!

Leave a Reply

