Remakes Suck and Originals Never Die

Posted: April 5, 2010 in Movie & TV Show Reviews and Thoughts, The Blog!

With the recent overload of horror movie remakes the last decade or so, it is giving me some hope that once I go back to school I might have a shot at this whole movie thing, seeing I hate remakes and have actual original ideas. I thought of the remake of Wes Craven’s Last House on the Left that came out about a year or so ago. I remember watching the original film in about 2001 for the first time. It was such a griddy, hard hitting realistic film that was so much a product of it’s time. Early 70’s the war, the drugs, presidents and political figure’s getting shot etc…hell poor kids at Kent State were doing their constitutional right in protesting the war and the army unloads bullets on them…that is crazy. I mean, I hate the economy right now, but I don’t have to be afraid to state my opinion with risk of getting my brains blown out do I? Films just aren’t the same and a big part of that is that the country and society we live in has changed so much. You can’t say anything anymore without the chance of possibly offending someone, it’s kind of sad to be honest. No one has new idea’s and they ride on the coat tails of other GREAT directors. In honor of my love for remakes here is my gift to you, the trailer for Wes Craven’s original shock horror film…The Last House on the Left

Comments
  1. ya, I wish people would just come up with their own idea’s. I’m headed back to school in the fall after a 5 year break from getting my A.A (marriage, having a son. moving)things kinda put my schooling but I plan to go back for film and would love to work on an original horror production.

  2. I completely agree and would add that among my biggest pet peeves about all of these inferior remakes is that they don’t even make it clear that it’s a remake. So many of the kids who watch these remakes are totally oblivious to the fact that there’s an original. There should be a little respect for the originals.

Leave a Reply

